Sun, Jun

Poker Hall of Fame 2008


The announcements of the 2008 inductees to the Poker Hall of Fame was delayed so as allow the ceremony to coincide with the final table of the WSOP Main Event. The two players honored this year are Dewey Tomko and Henry Orenstein. The ceremony took place on November 9 at the Penn & Teller Theater at the Rio All-Suites Hotel & Casino in Las Vegas.

Tomko participation in the WSOP Main Event this year was his 35th consecutive appearance, which in itself is a record and a great achievement. He has been runner-up twice in the Main Event. His three WSOP bracelets have come in the other events. Tomko has earned more than $4.8 million in tournament prizes. He hails from Winter Haven in Florida.

Orenstein has been inducted into the Poker Hall of Fame not for his poker skills but for an invention that has changed the way the world sees poker – “the hole card cam”. This invention revolutionized television poker because it allows viewers at home to see the cards the players are holding.