Tue, Aug

Lindgren is WSOP 2008 'Player of the Year'


With only the Main Event to be decided, which does not count for the Player of the year, the race is over. Erick Lindgren has been crowned Player of the Year at WSOP 2008. The top five in decreasing order are Erick Lindgren, Barry Greenstein, Jacobo Fernandez, John “Razor” Phan and David Benyamine.

Because all events do not contribute equally to ratings, we have Fernandez in third place without winning any bracelets and Phan in fourth place with two bracelets.

Three players crossed the $1 million mark in WSOP 2008 earnings. For all of them the major contribution came from the World Championship H.O.R.S.E. event, which had a total prize pool of over 7 million dollars. This is the only event with a $50,000 buy-in. Scotty Nguyen leads with $2,069,328 out of which $1,989,120 came in the H.O.R.S.E. event for the first prize. Mike DeMichele is next with $1,383,072 out of which $1,243,200 was for second place in the H.O.R.S.E. event. Erick Lindgren is third with $1,348,528 out of which $781,440 was for third place in the H.O.R.S.E. event.